Watch Video

While many phones have a messages button on them, some of them don’t or have difficult menu paths to access voicemail. These star codes allow you to quickly access voicemail from your phone either way. Not only that, they allow you to check ring group or shared voicemail boxes as well.

This page demonstrates how to access and manage voicemail from your Jive phone (internal/remote). If you would like help managing voicemail from the end user portal, please see Voicemail Settings and Check Voicemail Online.

Before managing voicemail from your Jive phone, make sure Delete Message After Sending is unchecked in the notification voicemail settings. If checked, voicemails will be permanently deleted (we cannot retrieve them) from Jive’s system once they are emailed.

Access Voicemail

Note: A single voicemail box holds up to 99 messages. Once it is full, callers will be unable to leave new voicemail messages.

To check voicemail for the line(s) assigned to the phone:

Note: If there are multiple lines assigned to the device, select the desired line before completing these steps.

1. Dial *99 from your Jive phone or press the Messages key (depending on the phone model, this button may have an envelope icon on it).

2. Enter your password (default 0000).

To check other extension, ring group, or shared voicemail boxes:

1. Dial *98 from a Jive phone.

2. Enter the extension.

3. Enter the password (default 0000).

To check voicemail from a remote phone (such as a cell phone):

1. Call your office extension.

2. Press * when you hear the voicemail greeting begin.

3. Enter your password (default 0000).

Voicemail Menu Guide

Download PDF

voicemailMenu

Voicemail Menu Descriptions

Main Menu
Main Menu

[ 1 ] New Messages

Listen to new messages.
While listening to a message, press * to rewind in 2 sec increments or # to fast forward in 4 sec increments.

[ 2 ] Change Folders

Listen to messages saved in the New, Old, Work, Family, or Friends folders.

[ 3 ] Advanced Options

Leave a voice message for another internal extension.

[ 0 ] Mailbox Options

Manage greetings and voicemail password.

[ * ] Help

Repeat main menu options.

[ # ] Exit

Exit voicemail system.

Message Options
Main Menu > Message Options

[ 3 ] Advanced Options

Leave a voice message reply (internal extensions only), hear message details, or leave a voice message for another internal extension.

[ 5 ] Repeat Message

Replay message.

[ 6 ] Next Message

Go to the next message.

[ 7 ] Delete Message

Remove message permanently.

[ 8 ] Forward Message

Forward message to another internal extension.

[ 9 ] Save Message

Save message to a different folder (New, Old, Work, Family, Friends).

[ * ] Help

Repeat message options.

[ # ] Exit

Exit voicemail system.

Advanced Options
Main Menu > Message Options > Advanced Options

[ 1 ] Send Reply

Leave a voice message for the internal extension that left the voicemail.

[ 3 ] Hear Message Details

Hear message timestamp and caller id information.

[ 5 ] Leave Message

Leave a voice message for another internal extension.

[ * ] Return to Message Options

Go back to message options.

Undelete
Main Menu > Message Options > Undelete

[ 7 ] Undelete Message

Confirm message deletion.

Forward Options
Main Menu > Message Options > Forward Options

[ 1 ] Prepend Message

Add a voice message to the beginning of the forwarded message.

[ 2 ] Forward w/out Prepending

Forward without adding a voice message.

[ * ] Return to Main Menu

Go back to the main menu.

Save Options
Main Menu > Message Options > Save Options

[ 0 ] Save to New Messages

Save message in the New folder.

[ 1 ] Save to Old Messages

Save message in the Old folder.

[ 2 ] Save to Work Messages

Save message in the Work folder.

[ 3 ] Save to Family Messages

Save message in the Family folder.

[ 4 ] Save to Friends Messages

Save message in the Friends folder.

[ * ] Cancel

Cancel save and go back to message options.

Folder Selection
Main Menu > Folder Selection

[ 0 ] New Messages

Listen to new messages.

[ 1 ] Old Messages

Listen to undeleted messages or those saved in the Old folder.

[ 2 ] Work Messages

Listen to undeleted messages or those saved in the Work folder.

[ 3 ] Family Messages

Listen to undeleted messages or those saved in the Family folder.

[ 4 ] Friends Messages

Listen to undeleted messages or those saved in the Friends folder.

[ # ] Cancel

Go back to the main menu.

Advanced Options
Main Menu > Advanced Options

[ 5 ] Leave Message

Leave a voice message for another internal extension.

[ * ] Return to Main Menu

Go back to the main menu.

Press # After Recording (Message Review Enabled on Recipient’s Line)
Main Menu > Advanced Options > Press # After Recording

[ 1 ] Accept Recording

Send the message to the designated internal extension.

[ 2 ] Listen to Recording

Listen to the recording.

[ 3 ] Re-record Message

Erase recording and re-record.

[ 4 ] Mark/Unmark as Urgent

Mark/Unmark message as urgent.
Message is played first and URGENT is added to subject line if email notifications are enabled.

[ 0 ] Reach Operator

Speak with operator (must be enabled on the recipient’s line).

Press # After Recording (Message Review Disabled on Recipient’s Line)
Main Menu > Advanced Options > Press # After Recording

[ 2 ] Change Folders

Listen to messages saved in the New, Old, Work, Family, or Friends folders.

[ 3 ] Advanced Options

Leave voice message for another internal extension.

[ 0 ] Mailbox Options

Manage greetings and voicemail password.

[ * ] Help

Repeat options.

[ # ] Exit

Exit voicemail system.

Mailbox Options
Main Menu > Mailbox Options

[ 1 ] Record Unavailable Message

Record default mailbox greeting.

[ 2 ] Record Busy Message

Record secondary greeting (for use in a dial plan).

[ 3 ] Record Name

Record your name as a mailbox greeting.

[ 4 ] Record Temporary Message

Record temporary message (overrides all greetings until deleted).

[ 5 ] Change Password

Change mailbox password (default 0000).

[ # ] Return to Main Menu

Return to main menu.

Press # After Recording
Main Menu > Mailbox Options > Press # After Recording

[ 1 ] Accept Recording

Save recording.

[ 2 ] Listen to Recording

Listen to recording.

[ 3 ] Re-record Message

Erase recording and re-record.

Manage Temporary Message
Main Menu > Mailbox Options > Manage Temporary Message

[ 1 ] Record Temporary Message

Record temporary greeting.

[ 2 ] Delete Temporary Message

Remove temporary greeting permanently.

Was this help page useful? Send feedback.

Was this help page useful?


This form is to provide feedback on our help pages. if you need assistance, let's talk—we'd love to hear from you.