Watch Video

Rebooting or resyncing a device is most often performed to apply any changes you make to a device’s settings. However, it can also be necessary when resolving issues on a device that is acting up. You can do this process manually or remotely from the portal. Read below for more details on when to use each method.

Manual Power Cycle

Power cycling (rebooting) simply means disconnecting your phone from its power source, and then turning it back on again. Rebooting allows the device to implement any changes to its profile settings or recover from an unresponsive state. Additionally, this process can often resolve network connectivity issues or odd behavior the phone might be experiencing.

1. Unplug the power supply and internet source (ethernet cord) from the device.

2. Confirm the phone’s display is blank to verify the power supply is fully disconnected.

3. Wait at least 30 seconds.

4. Plug the power supply and internet source (ethernet cord) back in to the device.

Note: If the device is PoE (power over ethernet), you will only see a single ethernet cord plugged in to the LAN, SW, NET, or Internet port. Simply unplug this cord, wait a 30 seconds, and then plug it back in to reboot the device.

Remote Resync

If minor changes are made to a device profile, you can resync the phone remotely to implement its new settings. For most supported devices, this will cause the phone to reboot as well—so it could also be used to power cycle the device for other reasons, such as maintenance.

There are some devices that do not support the remote resync feature. For more information, please contact Customer Support.

Individual Device

This feature does not resync devices that are currently offline.

1. Click Devices in the left sidebar.

2. Click the resync icon next to the device that requires a resync.

Note: Avoid clicking the resync icon multiple times, as each resync request is queued (i.e. clicking the resync icon three times resyncs the phone three times).

All Devices

The ability to remotely resync all devices at once is disabled for systems with more than 50 devices. To ensure calls are not interrupted, it is recommended to remotely resync all devices early in the morning or late at night.

This feature does not resync devices that are currently offline.

1. Click Devices in the left sidebar.

2. Click [RESYNC ALL].

Note: Avoid clicking [RESYNC ALL] multiple times, as each resync request is queued (i.e. clicking the resync icon three times may resyncs the phone three times).

Was this help page useful? Send feedback.

Was this help page useful?


This form is to provide feedback on our help pages. if you need assistance, let's talk—we'd love to hear from you.